3 Helpful Hints About Cell Phones


My wife and I don’t use Smart Phones with Internet Access, we use a simple “Clamshell Phone” like that illustrated below. I choose to use my existing Clam Shell Cell Phone with a simple lanyard I hang around my neck. This is what it looks like….

Clam Shell is open with lanyard loop attached.

Clam Shell is open with lanyard loop attached.

When the Clam Shell Phone is closed the lanyard can hang around neck which is very convenient….

Lanyard attached to closed clamshell cell phone

Lanyard attached to closed clamshell cell phone

My lanyard allows me to detach the cell phone if I wish…

Cell phone detached from pendant-style lanyard

Cell phone detached from pendant-style lanyard

Image from Internet site

Lanyard Image from Internet site

You can buy a lanyard over the Internet. Click here

Besides convenience there is a small additional benefit. I have what is better than a Life Alert system since I can use it wherever I am including my car or elsewhere, I can make direct contact with a 911 operator rather than having to work through an operator at Life Alert who then contacts the local 911 service. If you already have a cell phone, combine the lanyard, cell phone and Smart911 (Metro Nashville’s Free Emergency Alert Service) and you have additional safety at no cost. In a previous post I discussed the Life Alert System and other options… Click Here

You may want to add these 3 entries in your cell phone address book:

  1. Name: Help 911     Number: 911
  2. Name: Help Non-emergency    Number: 615-862-8600
  3. Name: ICE Emergency Contact     Number: (Telephone number of family member)Cell Phone Car

“I’ve spent many hours digging through people’s wallets and going through cell phones looking for emergency contact numbers,” says Denise King, president of the Emergency Nurses Association.

For the cell phone entries, they once again recommend redundancy. Emergency workers know to look for “ICE” which stands for “In Case of Emergency.” An “AA” will keep the number at the top of your contacts list. “AA ICE” or “AA Emergency info” or “ICE spouse,” are all good ideas for cell phone entries.

.

2 thoughts on “3 Helpful Hints About Cell Phones

  1. Pingback: Why I Don’t Cancel My Regular Telephone Service | Cloister Living

Share your thoughts with fellow neighbors...

