About My New IPod Touch That is Not a Smart Phone


iPhone

My children, and almost everyone I know seems to be carrying a Smart Cell Phone…….except Bonney and me. We each have the old fashioned Clamshell Cell phone. I don’t bother to carry mine around. I keep mine in the Honda Glove compartment to use in case of an emergency if my car breaks down. Bonney usually keeps hers in her purse. Some people have Bonney’s cell number. No one has mine.

iPod Touch

Bonney’s Christmas gift to me, the iPod Touch, is absolutely fantastic. It is a smart-phone cell phone without the phone capability. I can use it a home because I have a Router that allows Bonney and I to have separate computers in separate rooms without wiring or extra Comcast charges. My iPod and laptop computer connect wireless at home or anyplace that has Wi-fi service allowing connection to the Internet.

It seems that today everything is eBooks and AudioBooks. Even my weekly news magazine “The Economist” is available to me as a subscriber in printed format, as an Internet Magazine I can read on the computer screen or on my iPod Touch, and in audio format that I listen to on either my computer, MP3 music player, or iPod Touch.

Apple commercials and “Smart Phone” users talk about Apps (short for Applications). Each square image on the iPod screen is access to a different application, just touch the image. I have heard claims are that there are a half million Apps available. I have always felt that Apps were simply another way tech companies can make more money. But many, many Apps are free! Apps that come with my iPod include front and back cameras,  music and Audiobook player, web browser, my MS Outlook Contact list, Outlook Calendar and even an E-mail reader plus more.

Sample screen iPod App

An iPhone costs about $400 plus tax while an iPod Touch costs $188 plus tax. The iPhone price drops to $99 if the purchaser buys a two year contract costing from $25 to $45 per month for two years. But…additional fees increase the monthly rate to the $45 to $75 range.  Other that the initial cost my iPod costs nothing to use. All I need is Wi-fi wireless access which is available at home, at Starbucks and even Burger King.

Bonney and I have decided to stick with our old fashioned cell phone and Vonage land line . We stay with the landline because it allows us to place phones in all three bedrooms and the Great room, all with the same phone number. We can answer the phone from any room. If they ever allow multiple cell phones with the same number and no additional charge except for the cost of a phone we might cancel our land line.

3 thoughts on “About My New IPod Touch That is Not a Smart Phone

  1. I do agree with all of the ideas you have presented for your post.
    They are very convincing and will certainly work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are very quick for
    beginners. May just you please prolong them a little from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

  2. Thank you, thank you Pete: This is GREAT information. The best I have been able to get. All my family has and uses all of the above, but when I ask questions I am made to feel immediately that I am way beyond any kind of bracket that has even an iota of sense. So I am now one up on them. Yeah.

Share your thoughts with fellow neighbors...

